Culturally Responsive Evidence-Based and Community-Defined Practices for Mental Health, A Six-Part Series

Distance Training Glossary | Print Version | Email This Page To A Friend

Training Details

Event Dates and Timeframe
Every other Thursday from May 20 - August 5, 2021
Day 1:
Thursday, May 20, 2021 at 10:00 AM until 11:30 AM
Day 2:
Thursday, June 10, 2021 at 10:00 AM until 11:30 AM
Day 3:
Thursday, June 24, 2021 at 10:00 AM until 11:30 AM
Day 4:
Thursday, July 8, 2021 at 10:00 AM until 11:30 AM
Day 5:
Thursday, July 22, 2021 at 10:00 AM until 11:30 AM
Day 6:
Thursday, August 5, 2021 at 10:00 AM until 11:30 AM
Location and Delivery Method
Delivery Method
Online / Web Delivered
Software
Zoom
Cost Range
FREE
Funded by Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration

Host And Instructor

Host
NW Mental Health Technology Transfer Center Network (MHTTC)
Instructor
TBD
class/provider logo image

Training Overview Description

The Cultural Responsiveness Working Group (CRWG) aims to disseminate culturally appropriate information and provide technical assistance for the mental health field to improve access to culturally responsive mental health services. The CRWG recognizes the importance of Evidence-Based Practices (EBPs) in the work across the MHTTC Network, as well as acknowledging and promoting culturally inclusive mental health practices that exist in the mental health field. To explore this topic further, the CRWG is conducting a six-part series of 90-minute listening sessions.

Event-specific Details

Objectives:
- Engage constituents in an interactive conversation about culturally inclusive mental health practices, including EBPs and Community-Defined Practices
- Explore strengths and barriers of Community-Defined Practices and elevate them as Culturally and Linguistically Appropriate Services (CLAS) Standards
- Identify ways to increase promotion of EBPs and Community-Defined Practices in technical assistance and trainings offered by the MHTTC Network

Audience:
We encourage mental health providers to attend the conversations, and anyone in the mental health field who is interested in engaging in a conversation about cultural adaptations for EBPs and Community-Defined Practices.

Registration and Recordings:
Please register for the Listening Sessions in this series below. All session will be recorded and made available on this page within a week of each live event. CEUs are not available for these sessions; however, certificates of completion for each learning session are available to viewers of 50% (45 minutes) or more of the live session. Questions? Contact Jessica Gonzalez, MHTTC School Mental Health Coordinator, at jegonzalez@stanford.edu.

Registration Information

Note: All 90-minute Listening Sessions take place Thursdays from May 20 - August 5 @ 10 am AKT/ 11 am PT/ 12pm MT/ 1pm CT/ 2pm ET.

May 20 | Session 1: Setting the Stage
Register here!

June 10 | Session 2: Familia Adelante: Multi-risk Reduction Behavioral Health Prevention for Latino Youth & Families
Register here!

June 24 | Session 3: Project Venture: Positive Youth Development for American Indian & Alaska Native Youth
Register here!

July 8 | Session 4: Motivational Interviewing
Register here!

July 22 | Session 5: Achieving Whole Health: Balancing Mind, Body and Spirit (AWH)
Register here!

August 5 | Session 6: Preventing Long-term Anger and Aggression in Youth (PLAAY)
Register here!